The Girl From Everywhere

The Girl from EverywhereAuthor: Heidi Heilig
Published: February 16th 2016 by Greenwillow Books
Genre: Young Adult | Science Fiction | Fantasy | Adventure
Edition: eARC from Netgallery
Length: 464 pages
Rating: 4/5 stars

It was the kind of August day that hinted at monsoons, and the year was 1774, though not for very much longer.

Sixteen-year-old Nix Song is a time-traveller. She, her father and their crew of time refugees travel the world aboard The Temptation, a glorious pirate ship stuffed with treasures both typical and mythical. Old maps allow Nix and her father to navigate not just to distant lands, but distant times – although a map will only take you somewhere once. And Nix’s father is only interested in one time, and one place: Honolulu 1868. A time before Nix was born, and her mother was alive. Something that puts Nix’s existence rather dangerously in question…

Nix has grown used to her father’s obsession, but only because she’s convinced it can’t work. But then a map falls into her father’s lap that changes everything. And when Nix refuses to help, her father threatens to maroon Kashmir, her only friend (and perhaps, only love) in a time where Nix will never be able to find him. And if Nix has learned one thing, it’s that losing the person you love is a torment that no one can withstand. Nix must work out what she wants, who she is, and where she really belongs before time runs out on her forever.” ~ Goodreads

I received a copy of this book from Netgallery and the publishers in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affects my review. Thank to Netgallery and the publisher for giving me a copy of this book.

Quick note: There is a has a been a bit of time between when I read the book & I wrote this review so I may get a thing wrong here and there. Sorry in advance and let me know, if you’ve read the book, so I can fix it. 🙂

 It was different story. I haven’t really seen anything like this one.  I didn’t really see a plot. Maybe because most of what I read is SFF which have like really big plots and lots of trouble. I did really enjoy the book. I also really enjoyed the writing. I like the time travel aspect of the book. It was kind of like the Doctor with his TARDIS but more in just this world. I was a bit confused about how it worked though and it never was really explained.

There was lots of diversity with POCs and some LGBTIA. The main character is Nix, who is mixed race. The crew she travels with is also POC. For example, Kash is Indian(!) or somewhere from that area. And one of the crew is  a lesbian from Africa.

I really enjoyed the characters. Nixie & Kashmir are great & awesome! I had so much fun reading their adventures & about them. The crew were also great.

Amazon | Goodreads

3 thoughts on “The Girl From Everywhere

  1. This sounds so good! I’ve heard loads of good things about it, but I didn’t know it had LGBT+ diversity, as well as racial diversity. I love the UK cover, so I can’t wait to get to this one! I’m glad you enjoyed it 😀

    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Like

  2. Yay for diversity!! I love seeing so much of that in books lately. I have this book on my shelf, but I also received the audiobook and I think I may give that one a try. I’m very interested in the time travel aspect, though that’s a shame that it wasn’t explained adequately. Great review!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

