Threats of Sky and Sea

Threats of Sky and Sea.jpgAuthor:  Jennifer Ellision
Published: Published May 20th 2014 by Createspace
Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy
Edition: ereview copy
Length: 360 pages
Rating: 5/5 stars

Sixteen year-old Breena Perdit has spent her life as a barmaid, innocent to her father’s past and happily free from the Elemental gifts that would condemn her to a life in the Egrian King’s army. Until the day that three Elemental soldiers recognize her father as a traitor to the throne and Bree’s father is thrown in jail—along with the secrets from his last mission as the King’s assassin. Secrets that could help the King win a war. Secrets he refuses to share.

Desperate to escape before the King’s capricious whims prove her and her father’s downfall, Bree bargains with him: information for their lives. It’s a good trade. And she has faith she’ll get them both out of the King’s grasp with time.

But that was before the discovery that she’s the weapon the King’s been waiting for in his war.

Now, time is running out. To save her father’s life and understand her own, Bree must unravel the knot of her father’s past before the King takes his life– and uses her to bring a nation to its knees.” ~ Goodreads

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affects my review. Thank to Jennifer for giving me a copy of this book.

First of the cover is really pretty! And the font is gorgeous. I also love how it shows a girl with a pixie cut in a ball gown. Usually when people think of pixie cuts, I feel like they think those girls are tomboys or lesbians who don’t like dress. The girl on the cover is a very accurate representation of Bree, at least in my mind.

I really enjoyed this book. The pace of the books was a bit slow but towards the end the pace really picked up and I was hooked. I started the ending before I had a class and I was reading it right up to when the class started. That’s when I finished the book. That kinda ending up being a bad idea because the end was was such a cliffhanger! I was left wanting more and quickly bought the next book.  The writing is lyrical and well done.

There was a major plot twist just like 10 pages before the ending. I was shocked but I think inside myself I was expecting that plot twist to happen. I think I was to engrossed into the plot to think ahead and of potential plot twists. I don’t know how I particular feel about the plot twist. As if the end of the book, it hasn’t really made a major difference yet (and same for what I’ve read of the second book). I know it will become a bigger thing later on in the series though. I really hope the second book doesn’t have a cliffhanger. Otherwise I’m stuck wondering about Bree , the main character, until who knows when (GR doesn’t have a release date for book 3…only that it should be released this year!

There was sort of a romance in the book but not really. It was a meh thing for me. I didn’t really see the romance between the Bree and her supposed love. But I’m open to seeing it develop in book 2 or 3.

Bree is pretty awesome. I loved how she was quite the independent and fierce charater. She didn’t need weapons or a dude to save her. She was very headstrong and sort of quick to think on her feet. I also really enjoyed that she had a strong relationship with her dad. This isn’t something you really see in ya novels. Parents are meh charater, hardly mentioned or horrible. It was nice to see the relationship between the two instead of just romantic relationships. Also Bree develops a kind of strong relationship with another girl, which is also nice to see. Seeing strong non-romantic relationships in books is great. The world isn’t just made up of romantic relationships.

Amazon | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

