Alanna: The First Adventure

Song of the Lioness bk 1Author: Tamora Pierce
Published: December 8th 2009 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy | Magic | Adventure
Edition: paperback library book
Length: 240 pages
Rating: 5/5 stars

” “From now on I’m Alan of Trebond, the younger twin. I’ll be a knight.”

And so young Alanna of Trebond begins the journey to knighthood. Alanna has always craved the adventure and daring allowed only for boys; her twin brother, Thom, yearns to learn the art of magic. So one day they decide to switch places: Disguised as a girl, Thom heads for the convent; Alanna, pretending to be a boy, is on her way to the castle of King Roald to begin her training as a page. But the road to knighthood is not an easy one. As Alanna masters the skills necessary for battle, she must also learn to control her heart and to discern her enemies from her allies. Filled with swords and sorcery, adventure and intrigue, good and evil, Alanna’s first adventure begins—one that will lead to the fulfillment of her dreams and make her a legend in the land.”  ~Goodreads

I absolutely love this series. It’s an all time favorite of mine. I’ve read this series multiple times. I love the magic and the adventure in it. There is so much to talk about for this book (more like book series) so I’ll share some of my favorite things about the book. And some quotes.

  1. Alanna – She’s a badass character. She’s not one to give up (at one point she says she gives up but Coram, the dude that came with her to the castle. But in her heart she didn’t mean it…though she didn’t know it till later). Also she’s a redhead with purple eyes. Do you ever heard about badass redheads (the only one I can think of is Kell)? Also the purple eyes are super cool. 🙂 Alanna is amazing and I love her!
  2. The magic – There’s not much magic in this book but the magic in the book is kinda different from what I had seen before (at least the first time I read it). Pierce does an awesome job talking about the magic. It’s a mix of gods and magic.
  3. The ‘icky’ stuff is explained  – Alanna is about 12 or 13 in this book. Pierce does a good job about writing about Alanna growing up instead of just glossing over those parts. For example, she write Alanna’s mini freak out about her boobs growing and getting her period for the first time (2 seperate scenes). And Alanna, after getting her period explained to her and how to deal with it, is given a charmed necklace which prevents her from getting pregnant. The idea of pregnancy/being protected isn’t really talk about in tv shows/books. A show that comes to mind is The 100. In that show everyone’s sleeping with everyone else (and there’s no mention of condoms or any other preventative measures)  and yet no one is pregnant. I almost want to see someone end up pregnant (like one of the main charaters that are teenages) on that show to see how they deal with it.
  4. The writing – Pierce is a fabulous writer and I love her writing style. Here are some of my favorite quotes to prove my point.
    • “All I know is that I’m to jump when I’m told and I have no free time.”
    • “I believe in deeds, not words.”
    • “Why does this mean so much to you, Jon?”
      The Prince turned. “Because he’s my friend. Because I always know where he stands, and where I stand with him. Because I think he’d die for me and–and I think I’d die for him. Is that enough?”
    • “A bully fights people littler and weaker than he is because he thinks it’s fun.”
    • “All these things Alanna knew from her father’s books and maps, but the reality took her breath away as a paragraph written in a book never could.”
    • “We’re men, and men aren’t born to stand alone.”

Amazon | Goodreads

One thought on “Alanna: The First Adventure

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap up – February 2016 – Books N' Calm

Leave a Reply

