The Forbidden Wish

ForbiddenWish_BOM.indd

Author: Jessica Khoury
Published: February 23rd 2016 by Razorbill
Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy | Retelling | Magic
Edition: ARC
Length: 352 pages
Rating: 5/5 stars

She is the most powerful Jinni of all. He is a boy from the streets. Their love will shake the world…

When Aladdin discovers Zahra’s jinni lamp, Zahra is thrust back into a world she hasn’t seen in hundreds of years — a world where magic is forbidden and Zahra’s very existence is illegal. She must disguise herself to stay alive, using ancient shape-shifting magic, until her new master has selected his three wishes.

But when the King of the Jinn offers Zahra a chance to be free of her lamp forever, she seizes the opportunity—only to discover she is falling in love with Aladdin. When saving herself means betraying him, Zahra must decide once and for all: is winning her freedom worth losing her heart?

As time unravels and her enemies close in, Zahra finds herself suspended between danger and desire in this dazzling retelling of Aladdin from acclaimed author Jessica Khoury. ~Goodreads

I received an ARC of this book in a twitter giveaway from Lydia Kang. That is no way effect my review of this book. My review is an honest one. 

This is a book I would have read in one day (staying up all night to do so if necessary) if it weren’t for the fact I have to go to school, work, do homework and sleep. It was beautifully written and very well done. It was still the story of Aladdin but at the same time it wasn’t. It was it’s own story.

Some of the writing struck me.  I wanted to highlight a lot in the book but I didn’t. So I had to pause to type up the quotes. They were brilliant and poetic. And I wasn’t able to highlight all the quotes I wanted to. So I’m going to reread the book once it comes out & highlight to my hearts content.

The writing is a mix of first and third person. It’s told like it’s Zahara telling the story to a friend of hers. I enjoyed this writing style. I haven’t really seen that in books before.

The cover is so pretty! And I love the typography they picked and how it’s used for the chapter titles. Usually the chapter titles are in a normal font, the font picked for the rest of the book but in this book, the font for the title is used for the chapter titles as well.

I honestly have no idea what to say. This book is great and you should totally read it. I would totally share the quotes I typed up but I’m afraid there maybe spoilers.

Amazon | Goodreads

 

3 thoughts on “The Forbidden Wish

  1. I second your opinion on the cover. It’s utterly gorgeous! After A Whole New World, which was a massive disappointment for me last year, I’ve stayed far away from djinn stories and Aladdin retellings. But I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed this so much! 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap up – February 2016 – Books N' Calm

Leave a Reply

