Emotions

25886430Author: Arnulfo Cantarero
Published: October 21st 2015 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform (first published December 28th 1996)
Genre: Young Adult | Coming of Age | Sci-Fi
Edition: ebook
Length: 347 pages
Rating: 3/5 stars

“Jason Ariaz is not your average 22 year old. He has been genetically and cybernatically enhanced but that’s only the beginning. He is an emotionless extraterrestrial born to human parents and living amongst us. Both him and his implanted thinking computer were damaged on landing and must go through life as less than what they really are. The purpose of their mission: to gain permanent emotions from the more primitive society that is Earth. If he is successful, he will be the first of his species to do so in nearly 200,000 years.

Hope lies in the fact that he is capable of emotional episodes and he has been able to forge true friendships. However, he does have the chance of completing his mission if he can truly care for Ariel, the closest human in his life. But he better know his heart soon. Their lives are in danger of ending tonight, unless he can recover what his species has lost.”  ~ Goodreads

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This in no way effects my review. Thank to Arnulfo for giving me a copy of this book.

It took me a bit to get into. I got into the book about 1/5th into the book. I almost DNF-ed but I’m glad I didn’t. I enjoyed this book. It was good. I did get a bit confused at times but it wasn’t enough to put me off the book or make such a difference in the plot of the book.

There weren’t chapter breaks in the book which was a bit annoying. When I say chapter breaks, I mean that usually a new chapter starts on a new page, that wasn’t there with this book. I thought maybe it was because I got like a manuscript turned ebook sort of thing but it was gifted to me from  Amazon so that’s probably the official formatting for the book.

While reading the book, I was kind of reminded of the movie Short Circuit (or at least the Indian version of it – Robo). While I was reminded of it, it wasn’t completely based of the movie. It had lots of different things and was its own story. Also there was a Star Trek mention which made me smile. 🙂 It also got me wondering if Jason was partially based on Spock/Vulcans (who are ’emotionless’ aliens; they have emotions, they just don’t show them).

The book starts with Jason at 22 but flashes back to his childhood. And most of the book is seeing Jason grow up from a child to a teenager. Jason’s actually 22 for like the last fourth of the book. At first I was like what. Isn’t Jason suppose to be 22 for the whole book but slowly I began to enjoy reading Jason’s backstory. It was nice to see Jason grow up. It showed why Jason is who he is and it makes you connect with Jason more.

The diversity was meh but yet the same time good. The main character and pretty much the rest of the characters in the book) were poc, more specially Mexican. Also there were quite a few amount of girls. Not because they were Jason’s girlfriends or some ‘useless’ character in the book but actually girls who mattered and were more than just girls.

Warning: there are two attempted (?) rapes in the book. So if you’re sensitive to that sort of thing, be cautious, if you decide to read the book. It’s not graphic but they are mentioned/slight described. One is about a little more than half way into the book and the second one is closer to the end of the book. 

Amazon | Goodreads

One thought on “Emotions

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap up – February 2016 – Books N' Calm

Leave a Reply

