Carry On

237346281Author: Rainbow Rowell
Published: October 6th 2015 by St. Martin’s Griffin
Genre: Young Adult | Romance | Fiction | Fantasy | LBGT
Edition: ebook
Length: 522 pages
Rating: 2/5 stars

“Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.” ~Goodreads

During the first part of Carry On, I seriously considered DNFing it. It was kind of boring and Simon was very annoying and I was like who the fuck is Lucy and why do we need to know her pov. Also the Mage was so annoying. He’s like a spoiled child. Agatha is also annoying. But I really liked Penny (and not just because she’s part Indian). I liked her character and her pov. So I kept on reading to for her. And also, to find out about Baz, who didn’t appear until the second part. This is when I started to enjoy the book a bit.

I wasn’t into the book. It was okay. I only read I kept on reading was Baz & Penny. I liked their characters and wanted to find out what happened to them. Simon was annoying in the beginning but he became okay towards the end.

Carry On wasn’t really a love story, at least to me. The romance didn’t being until like 3/4 of the way into the book. It was more about Simon and his adventures with Baz and sometimes Penny.

I was remind a lot of Harry Potter while reading the book. Simon was Harry but more of an idiot. Baz was like Draco but interaction with Simon. The Mage was like the villian-fied version Dumbledore. And Penny was like a mix of Ron and Hermione but more Hermione than Ron.

I kinda felt like Rowell took the easy way out with the spells. A lot of them were rhymes that kids learn or lines from a song. Or just saying what you want to happen. I do realize she probably didn’t but much effort because it was just a one-off book but I fell like more effort could have been put in.

Did you have a different opinion of the book? What was it?

Amazon | Goodreads

9 thoughts on “Carry On

  1. I pretty much disagree with you on everything here – SORRY!! This was one of my favourite books of 2015, and I LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT IT!. It was a little slow in the start, but I think the ending totally made up for it. I loved the romance too! I really liked all the characters as well, but I can see where you’re coming from – it won’t be for everyone. I actually really liked the spells, and the ending! 😀

    Great review! I thought Penny was awesome too – I loved the diversity in her character. I hope you enjoy your next read a bit more! ❤
    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Like

  2. I think you’re the only person I’ve seen that didn’t absolutely ADORE this book! I’ve not read it yet myself, but I’m kind of curious to see hoe Rainbow Rowell does fantasy. I feel like I might end up with a review a lot like yours though, because I love fantasy so would have high hopes

    Like

    • I probably am. You bring up a good point about the fantasy. Maybe that’s why I didn’t like it as much. I was’t think it was more like I wasn’t feeling romance then. Maybe it’s both. idk.
      You should give it a try Maybe you’ll end up liking it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, yes, yes. Rainbow Rowell is one of my favorite authors. I have all of her books and have read them all. But I really think she missed the mark with Carry On. I know a lot of people loved it, but honestly, it felt forced and just weird. The characters were slightly familiar as was the world but the spells were just dumb, the “romance” was the only thing cool and maybe different. Glad to know I wasn’t in fact, the only one who didn’t love it.

    From my review:
    The writing was definitely not as smooth as in her previous books. The decision to include UK jargon and spelling was confusing and unneeded. There were many pop cultural references, but I think instead of helping the story it a.) dates it, and b.) comes off as lazy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

