Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell
Published: September 10th 2013 by St. Martin’s Press
Genre: Young Adult | Romance | Fiction
Edition: Audiobook
Length: 12 hrs and 48 mins
Rating: 4/5 stars

“Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind? ~ Goodreads

I read this book in just about one day. It’s been a really long time since I’ve done that. I haven’t done that in a while. For this to happen to me for the first book of 2016, I hope it’s a sign about the book I’ll read this year. 🙂

I really enjoyed this book.  It was well written and I kind of connected to Cath, the main character.  I have to head of to college this year (in September) and I’ll probably be like Cath still into fan fiction while in college (except I’ll mostly likely be reading it and not writing it. But who knows. Maybe I’ll start writing more fan fiction this year). Also I’m kinda of a shy/introverted person. I’d prefer staying at home to read a book, or watch something or go on tumblr.

I like it showed how Cath’s life was boring just as it is for us instead of the romanticized version of college.  I enjoyed reading how Cath interacted with the people around her. With her room mate, her sister, her room mate’s boyfriend, her dad and other people.

There was romance in the novel but too me it didn’t seem like there was much. That or it wasn’t really annoying to me because 1) no love triangle and two it wasn’t really so in your face kind of romance. It was kind subtle.

There were parts of Cath’s fanfiction as well as some of the “original” Simon Snow novel parts, at the end of each chapter. At first I was confused by this but I went and go the ebook and it made more sense to me. It kinda felt unnecessary but I kind of liked it. I more like Cath’s fan fiction than the “original” novel. Some chapter’s fan fiction/novel part related to what was going on with Cath, which I though was kinda nice.

There’s this one scene in the novel, where Cath meets a fan of her story. I thought that was pretty cool! It wasn’t a super big thing but I wish Rainbow Rowell had done more with the scene. Like have Cath tell the fan she’s the author of Carry On, Simon (her big epic fan fiction). Or mention her in Cath’s story in the author notes or something. I meant it kinda happpens in rl. For example, there was this one author who wrote some amazing fan fiction and I started following her on tumblr. And later she started following me, and we kinda started talking and became friends. But that beside it was a cute scene.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book. My next book to read is going to be Carry On. Which is basically Cath’s fan fiction which Rainbow Rowell wrote and released last year.

Amazon | Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Fangirl

  1. I love this book so freaking much! One of my favorite books ever:) Also, you will LOOOOVE Carry On! When I read Fangirl I didn’t really like the Simon Snow excerpts but I absolutely adored Carry On which was such a surpirse! Enjoy:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap up – January 2016 – Books N' Calm

Leave a Reply

