2016 Book + Blog Resolutions

Hey guys!!! I hope you all had an amazing holidays!! It’s almost the end of 2015 (that’s kinda scary). So it’s time to make resolutions for the new year. Here are my book + blog ones.

  1. Tamora Pierce Challenge –  Nori made this challenge because she wanted to reread all of Tamora’s books. I’ve read two different series of hers, both in the Tortall universe. I really enjoyed both of them so I decided to join in. In the post, Nori said it’s up to us to pick how many (or little) books of Tamora’s we wanted to read. I plan on reading all of Tamora Pierce’s books
  2. Goodreads Challenge – I want to read 120 books. This year I read 104 books (excluding rereads and some small books I didn’t track – the small books were ones I read to little kids because of work). I was debating about this particular one.  Last year (2014) I had the same goal of 100 books. I thought maybe I’d stick to the same goal but I decided to push myself and try and read 120 books
  3. The Backlist Books Reading Challenge  – The point of this challenge is to read/review books from 2014 and before. I thought this would be a great way for me to reread and review some of my favorite books. Also this would be a way for me to read some of the books that have been on my tbr for forever (like I found out today that it took me 2 years before I read Cinder after putting it on my tbr list).
  4. The Rock My TBR challenge  – With this challenge, hopefully I can read all the books I own (that are written by women).
  5. Track books read (and re-read) on a google doc – Goodreads is a great way of keeping track of books but it’s really annoying for keeping track of rereads. This way I can keep track of my rereads and see how many books I actually read (with rereads).
  6. LGBTIA Reading Challenge – Practically all the books I read are about white straight people. I think this is because lately I’ve been reading the more popular books. Also, that’s what most of the books are about. I want to widen my horizons and read about more non white straight people. I want to read 41-50 LGBTIA books and I don’t have that many books on my tbr list that are LGBTIA, so if you have recs, give me them. 🙂
  7. Read more books from the library/scribd – I have bought a lot of books as if the last few months (since I have a job which means my own money). This is kinda a big drain on my money which I should be saving for other things, like college. This way I don’t end up with a shit ton of books, which I probably won’t read again, that take up a lot space. I also don’t want to end up with books I don’t like/dnf, physical or ebook. That’s kinda waste of money. For example, I bought The Ables during Black Friday. I started reading it a week or two later. I got about 20-50 pages in, and dnf-ed. It was boring. Now it’s just a waste of the money I spent on it and space on my bookshelf.
  8. Blog at least once a week  – As if right now, I write a review once I’m done reading a book and the post it. This means that I don’t post consistently. I’d like to be constant. So I’d like to have at least have one post per week-either a update or a review post. Hopefully, this was I’ll also force to post my review, even if it seems small, and not feel weird/bad about it.
  9. To continue book blogging  – I started in September of this year and I’ve really grow to enjoy blogging and the book community. I’ve discovered some awesome people and books (which is good yet bad, the book part. My tbr list keeps growing and growing!). I also feel like I’ve improved my writing skills a bit. I’d love to keep blogging and if anything, try and become more active.
  10. Six Squared Reading Challenge – This challenge looks and sounds cool. So I thought I’d join in.

I know I talked about only reading books by women all of 2016 but then I read an blog post by Dahlia Adler. In the post, she made a lot of good points. Her post got me thinking, I mostly read books by women (and they were mostly YA).  Out of all the books, I think there was only like ones book I read that was by a man (The Martian), not including the comics I read (which I feel like are mostly/only written by men). So it’s not that big of a challenge for me. So I decided not to only read books by women but if I do read other books then YA, I think for those books I will try to stick to ones written by women (or at least non white cis men).

What about you? Do you have any book goals? No book goals, then what about personal ones.  If so feel free to share. 🙂 Happy New Years!! I hope your 2016 is great and amazing!

12 thoughts on “2016 Book + Blog Resolutions

  1. Yay for joining the #SixSquared Challenge! I’m doing the Rock My TBR and LGBTQIA challenges too (and a couple others).

    My Goodreads goal this year was 120 books and it ended up being the perfect number for me. Hope it’s a good number for you too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WOWZA I applaud you. That is a lot of stuff to do. I swore off any challenges this year (not that I really did any last year) it seems so stressful. Seriously you’re amazing! Let me know if you need any support 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow I really enjoyed reading this post. Totally agree on the LGBTIA. I wish I read more, I’ve only read I’ll Give You The Sun – which I loved! Also, it’s cool to meet a fellow newer blogger! I also started in September of 2015! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. AHHHHH GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR CHALLENGES! You’re in so many ahhh. AND GOOD LUCK WITH 120, though that definitely sounds doable! I’m setting mine at 100 though jsut because…well junior year sounds very scary lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

